Classical Cleveland

ACTIVITIESClassical Cleveland is organised by Peter Sotheran, who ran the highly successful Classics at Kirkleatham series for some 15 years. Peter normally presents two parallel series of 1.30pm lunch time recitals from October to June, excluding January and April, in Stokesley Methodist Church and at Tuned In! on Redcar sea-front. Stokesley concerts are on the first Thursday of each month and those at Redcar on the second Wednesday. Note however that the Redcar series is currently suspended until at least 2021.

For the time being Classical Cleveland Concerts are being offered as Zoom meetings, commencing at 2.00pm and lasting about 45 minutes. Concerts will be broadcast from a hall at the RNCM in Manchester. Audience members are recommended to have an external sound system connected to their computer or iPad, or to have good quality headphones or ear-buds in order to get maximum enjoyment from the performances.

Admission to online concerts is free and complimentary programme notes are provided online. Guests are invited to contribute towards the musicians' fees via a GoFundMe page or Bacs transfer. For advance information of forthcoming concerts and details of the Zoom login, send your name to:

In more normal times Stokesley lunchtime tickets cost £8.00 and are available at the door on the day. Excellent light lunches are available at the church from midday onwards. Occasional Evening concerts featuring established and well-known musicians of international status begin at 7.30 pm. Tickets prices and sales arrangements vary for these events - full details on the Classical Cleveland website below.

Each venue normally has its own page on this website, but they will only be updated when we can return to live concerts.
Stokesley Recitals
Tuned In! Redcar
WEBSITEThe overall website for both sets of concerts is at Classical Cleveland
EVENTS Thursday 3rd December 2020 at 2.00pm on Zoom:
Jason Lam (piano)

Jason has recently graduated at the Royal Northern College of Music with a Masters degree in Music. Born in Hong Kong, he came to the UK in 2009 to continue his studies . Jason is a recent winner of RNCM Piano Duo Prize, a finalist of the RNCM Concerto Competition and he won 2nd Prize at the 29th Roma International Piano Competition Two Piano Section.​

The Programme includes:
FRANZ LISZT - Gretchen aus Faust Symphonie S513
iii. Une barque sur l’océan
iv. Alborada del gracioso

The Zoom Concert Hall opens at 1.45pm and the concert lasts about 45 minutes. Admission is free with a retiring collection via a 'GoFundMe' page. Advice on using Zoom and getting the best enjoyment of the concert is on the Classical Cleveland website at:
Last update: 07 Nov 2020